What is the administrator role?
The administrator is a nominated person from a school who looks after the school registration process. The administrator:
- Registers and provides details about the school to MYLO
- Registers other teachers within the school once the school has been accepted into MYLO
- Can also act as a teacher within MYLO.
Creating a school account
From the 'Create an account' box choose the 'Schools' option. Complete the online form with details about you and your school. Click on the 'Create school account' option. You will then receive an e-mail from MYLO asking you to verify your email address. Once you have verified your email address by clicking on the verification link, you can sign in using your account details.
Creating teacher accounts
Click on the 'Add a new teacher' option. Complete the teacher's details. The teacher will receive an e-mail to confirm their registration and will then be asked to create a screen name and password so that they can sign in.
Creating learner accounts
Learners complete their own registration. To do this, they will need to register with an email address that is unique to them. If possible this should be their school email address. If your school does not provide individual email addresses, you may want to consider asking learners to set up accounts with one of the free web mail services that are available. Services such as www.gmail.com, www.gmx.com, www.hotmail.com or www.yahoo.com could be used. There are also other similar services available; however MYLO and RM Education do not endorse any one particular service.
You may also want to check with your school or LA that these free web mail addresses are not blocked by your firewall. It is also worth checking that your email provider's spam filter does not block any of the emails MYLO sends.
Alternatively, learners could use their home email addresses to register, which may be a good idea if they intend to use the service predominantly at home. This might take longer to set up if learners cannot access their email account within school, because part of the sign-up process involves receiving an email and clicking on a link to verify registration.
Once they have an account, learners will be able to take part in collaborative activities by joining a group. When you or another teacher sets up a group you will receive an access code for it. Give this code and the group name to the learners. They can then use these details to join the group via the 'Join a group' link on the homepage.
Transferring your administrator account
If you close the administrator account, then this will close the school account. However, if you no longer want to be the administrator, you can transfer your account to another teacher. The account can be transferred to another teacher registered at your school by clicking on their name via the 'Account controls' panel.
Closing the account
You can either deactivate your account for a period, delete it entirely (which closes the school account) or transfer your account to another teacher. All of these options can be accessed through the 'Account controls' panel. Click on 'Account settings' to access the options.
The role of teacher
The administrator also has the same functionality available to them as teachers. This means they can set up groups, manage a group and view work that learners have submitted.